Dr Nora Tischler is a quantum physicist, specialising in optical quantum information science. She earned her PhD at Macquarie University (2016) and the University of Vienna (2017), working with Gabriel Molina-Terriza and Anton Zeilinger. In 2016, she joined A Prof Geoff Pryde’s lab at Griffith University’s Centre for Quantum Dynamics as a postdoctoral researcher and was awarded a Griffith University Postdoctoral Fellowship for 2019-2020. In 2021, she moved to Germany with a Humboldt Postdoctocal Research Fellowship to work in Jens Eisert’s group at the Freie Univesitӓt Berlin. She
returned to Australia in 2022 on an ARC DECRA, and is now a group leader and the Junior Deputy Director in the Centre for Quantum Dynamics.

Nora’s research is broadly centred on the questions how quantum physics fundamentally differs from the classical realm and how these differences can be harnessed for technologies of the future. One of her key research themes concerns quantum correlations and non-locality. This includes the
development of techniques to efficiently generate high-quality quantum states of light and the fundamental implications of quantum correlations and their utility for quantum information tasks. Highlights of Dr Tishler’s research contributions to date have been the first rigorous demonstration of one-way quantum steering, pioneering experiments that established a quantum memory advantage in stochastic process modelling, and a no-go result that is stronger than Bell’s theorem.

Nora has 14 articles in the Nature and Science suites of journals, Physical Review Letters, and Physical Review X. Three of her publications have been highlighted as Editors’ Suggestions in Physical Review Letters. Nora’s work has also been featured in Science Magazine, Scientific American, Forbes, Quanta Magazine and through a News and Views piece in Nature Physics.

2023: QLD Young Tall Poppy Science Award
2021: Award of a Discovery Early Career Researcher Award (DECRA)
2020: Award of a Humboldt Research Fellowship for Postdoctoral Researchers
2019: Participation in the 69th Lindau Nobel Laureate meeting dedicated to Physics as an Australian delegate
2018: Award of a Griffith University Postdoctoral Fellowship
2017: Award of a Griffith University New Researcher Grant
2011: Recipient of two QUT University Medals