Centre updates

Westpac Future Leaders Scholarship awarded to CQC2T post-graduate student

CQC2T is proud to announce that one of our new 2018 PhD students has been awarded a Westpac Future Leaders Scholarship to undertake post-graduate study.

Joseph Rowlands graduated with First Class Honours for his experimental research in aeroacoustics, and is now focusing on quantum computing. His PhD will be under the supervision of UNSW scientist Professor Michelle Simmons, Director of the Centre of Excellence for Quantum Computation and Communication Technology, and 2018 Australian of the Year.

'Quantum computing will change the digital world by providing an exponential increase in computational power over traditional machines. This will create new industries, allow currently impossible research to be carried out, leading to new technologies not yet even imagined,' he says.

'Australia is leading this 'space race of the computing era'. For both economic and strategic reasons, it is imperative that Australia stay at the forefront of this exciting technological development.'

CQC2T Director Professor Michelle Simmons is Australian of the Year 2018

On behalf of all researchers and partners of CQC2T, we congratulate Scientia Professor Michelle Simmons, who was tonight named 2018 Australian of the Year in recognition of her pioneering research and inspiring leadership in quantum computing.

Professor Simmons, who is a UNSW Professor of Physics and Director of the Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Quantum Computation and Communication Technology based at UNSW, was awarded the honour by the Australian Prime Minister, Malcolm Turnbull, at a ceremony at Parliament House in Canberra.

Chair of the Centre Advisory Committee, Peter Yates AM said “Michelle’s achievements and those of her team are hugely exciting for the recognition of science in Australia. Her leadership of the Centre and her field is an inspiration to us all’.

As Centre Director she leads a team of more than 200 researchers at eight Australian universities who are developing a suite of technologies for quantum computing, information storage and communications.

For further information click here